3 A.M. Thoughts

I have always been a night owl. I never liked going to sleep, and I always had the hardest time falling asleep.

When I was younger, I never wanted the day to end, I never wanted to stop reading or stop watching a movie or stop playing a game.

The more I got older, the deeper into the night it got, the harder it was to turn my thoughts off.

Why are we here? What happens after we die? Why am I so bad at math? I wonder what the weather is going to be tomorrow? Am I going to get married? What would happen if I had a disease?

My sleeping pattern is strange. Some days I am tired and I am asleep by 10 pm. Other days I wake up periodically throughout the night. Some nights I don’t sleep at all.

I think the night, for some people, awakens the brain. It awakens imagination and curiosity and wonder. For all those dreamers out there, the night time allows us to finally breathe, to finally think, to let our minds explore all the unanswered questions and thoughts we have.

It’s a time where, the rest of the world is asleep, but for us, we are more awake than ever. It is quiet enough for us to think, but loud enough to feel alive.

It is a time where we can speak of our hopes, our fears, our dreams, and know that they are safe with the night. The night holds them tight, all while the moon and stars light up the dark places in our hearts and minds.

It is a time when, for just a little while, we experience magic.

Leave a Reply

