Love > Hate

Hate. I was taught growing up that we should never hate anyone. Hate is such a strong word. When I use the word hate, its about petty things. “I hate that TV show”, “I hate when I cannot fall asleep”, “I hate when there is no ice cream in the house.”

The world we live in today is constantly changing and evolving. Yet, I turn on the news, I scroll through my Facebook, I watch a new movie, and I am surrounded by hate. Hate for each other, for our differences, our similarities, our ways of life. Hate out of jealousy, out of greed, out of loneliness. We hate when someone is a different religion or race than us, but then we hate the people in our own religion and race. We hate the older generation for thinking that we are lazy, yet we hate the younger generation for being to “millennial” and embedded into technology. We love to hate. Why?

Hate is ugly. Hate is dark. Hate fuels anger. Hate causes jealousy. Hate makes us deaf to others. Hate makes us blind to other ways of life. Hate is heavy. It fills our hearts with jealousy, greed, hunger for attention, selfishness. Hate is like shoulder pads in sweaters, 90’s perms, people who hate Disney, and the very concept of cottage cheese.

But Love.

Love is beautiful. Love comes in different forms, each unique in its own way. Love makes you feel like you can fly. Love is light. Love fills your heart with joy, happiness, appreciation, kindness. Love is free. Love is the way the world looks in the morning, with dew on the grass, the birds softly chirping, and the world still asleep. Love is like an ice cream sundae with an extra scoop, the excitement of your dog when you return home, wearing over sized sweaters and fuzzy socks in the winter.

Love is easy to give. Love is free to give. Love is a universal concept. It doesn’t matter your age, race, religion, sexuality, language; love spans all oceans, all countries, all people.

Can you imagine a world, where there was more love than hate? Where people chose to spread love and kindness rather than hate and violence? I can. There is not enough time in our lives to hate. It may seem hard to choose love, and spread love, but it’s easy. Its being a helping hand. It’s spending time with your grandparents. It’s traveling to different countries and learning from different cultures. It’s volunteering at the nursing home, the soup kitchen, the animal shelter. It’s educating yourself by reading and staying up to date with world news. It’s taking the time to appreciate what you have in life, rather than what you don’t have.

Love is love is love is love is love. It doesn’t mater who you are, its a simple choice.

I choose love. Love allows me to see the beauty in the world, even through all the evil that exists. Love allows me to count my blessings. Love allows me to want to learn from other people. Love allows me to smile at strangers. Love allows me to live the best life I could live.

So yes, the world is filled with hate and evil. But, it is also filled with love. And I think, there is more love to be given, to be shared, to be chosen. I think, if we look hard enough, we will find that there is more love in this world than hate; there is more good than evil; there is more light than darkness.

Leave a Reply

