I’m Stuck

Feeling like you should be doing more.
Feeling like you are settling.
Not knowing the direction you want to take your life.

I am watching my little sister prepare to start High School in a month; One of my older sister’s just bought a house, the other is looking for a career move, while the other is expecting her second child.

I am watching friends from college start their full time jobs; move into their new apartments. I see younger friends partake in internships all across the world, opening their eyes to new experiences and areas for employment.

Then there is me. I work a part time job 3 days a week. I spend more time getting frustrated looking for full time employment, than going on interviews. I have barely talked to my friends from college since we graduated. I have become the personal taxi driver to my little sister. I stay up until 3 am pretty much every night watching Netflix ( Shameless is just so addicting). I can barely afford gas money, yet I go out every week with my friends for drinks to forget that I am not where I want to be with my life.

I am stuck.

I know that it is extremely rare that after college graduation, you obtain your dream job, start making lots of money, and feel you are where you are supposed to be. But as I watch the summer quickly creep by, I look at what I am doing, and I feel

un-inspired
un-motivated
confused
frustrated
lost

I have so many aspirations and goals for myself and my life. Yet I sit in my bedroom everyday seemingly unable to start achieving any of them. Money is a large aspect- I do not have money to support myself, pay my loans, and do what I want to do. I think another aspect is not knowing “what I want to do with my life”. I went to school for business, but cringe every time I look at jobs in this industry. I try and find employment, but have no idea what I am even looking for.

And the worst thing about it all, is I know I am not the only 22 year old who is feeling this way. I know this is common. I know there is another 21, 22, 23, 24 year old that is sitting at their job, sitting in their apartment or bedroom, sitting on their phone during class, thinking and feeling the exact same way I am.

So to all you out there, feeling stuck and frustrated and confused about where you are in your life, it’s okay. It is normal. You are not alone. It is not a fun feeling, and who knows how long it will last. But it is okay to feel like this.

Leave a Reply

