What do you want to do with your life?

You spend 18 years of your life going to school; tack on another 4 for a Bachelor Degree; another 2 for your Master’s. By the time you are 22 you are supposed to know what you want to do with your life. You spend your entire childhood receiving an education that is supposed to prepare you for the rest of your life.

It has been almost 3 months since I graduated college. Here I sit: 22, still unemployed, living at home, with absolutely no clue what I want to do with my life.

Growing up I wanted to be a librarian, a teacher, an actress, a singer. When it came time to start thinking of college, I had two routes I was thinking of picking: going to school for education, or going to school for business aka the path of the “undecided”. Let’s take a guess of which one I chose.

I attended one of the most ranked international and national colleges. It has held the ranking of the Number 1 school in the U.S. for entrepreneurship for 17 consecutive years. It is known for its tremendous curriculum and endless opportunities for undergraduates and graduates, both in the classroom and outside. Babson College, offered me so much that I could ever imagine. I met wonderful, creative, intuitive, caring, passionate people from all corners of the world. I was challenged in every single course I took, making me think outside of the box and work that much harder to succeed. I was able to hold leadership positions on campus, that allowed me to not only get to know my peers both older and younger than me, but help, advise, and listen to them. I was able to travel and experience new cultures. I made friends with people, who made me question my values, my goals, my thinking, ultimately making me a better person in the end. Babson provided me with endless opportunities; opportunities I have watched my peers and personal friends capitalize on.

And yet, I sit on my bed on this Friday night in August nearing midnight, still with no clue what I want to do with my life. I have a College degree; I received an amazing education; I have applied for jobs; I have gone on interviews. What do I have to show? I hold a part-time hostessing job at a nearby restaurant that allows me to put gas in my car ( for which I am very grateful for).

I am not that naive, where I think I was going to land my dream job right after graduation. Then again, ask me what my dream job is, and I couldn’t give you an answer. I think of what I am interested in and what I can see myself doing for employment, and it is all just a big mix of everything. I have so many passions, something that is both positive and negative. With different passions, it allows more possibilities for careers. At the same time, it makes it hard to narrow it down and choose a career path. Well, I am passionate about education, but I am also passionate about helping people and the community, but I am also passionate about creativity and entertainment; but lets not forget about my passion for the health field. Yeah.

I have always been the person to say things like ” you have to follow your passions” , ” do not take a job just to take a job”, and ” you should love what you do”. It is really hard to practice what your preach, when in a couple of months you have to start paying off loans that allowed you to get your College degree, when only making $12 per hour. Day after day, I look for full-time employment. I do my job search, with my head saying, not to be picky, but my heart saying, follow your passions and find employment you love. What’s a girl to do?

After 16 years of school, I can honestly say, that no, I do not know what I want to do with my life. 

However, the more I think of that phrase, the more I realize it is a paradox. You see, I know what I want to do with my life.

I want to travel. I want to help others. I want to inspire others. I want to read good books. I want to listen to music that make me feel alive. I want to watch movies that remind me what it’s like to feel. I want to use my imagination. I want to create. I want to experience new cultures. I want to learn. I want to spread kindness. I want to drink tea. I want to laugh. I want to empower others. I want to listen to other’s stories. I want to share my words and ideas and stories. I want to entertain people. I want to take endless amounts of pictures and videos, so I can look back on my memories.I want to be innovative. I want to give back. I want to better myself, and those around me.

So really, it is not a matter of knowing what I want to do with my life, but rather what I am going to do to make all these aspects possible. If anybody is hiring for any of the above, holler at your girl.

As the wise Dr. Seuss wrote, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you chose”.

I wonder which direction I’ll take?

 

 

 

*Not sorry for the amount of times I stated “what do you want to do with your life?

Leave a Reply

